Lena Fritsch – Ravens & Red Lipstick – Japanese Photography since 1945 – Pre-order

€ 48.00 Zum Warenkorb hinzufügen

288 Seiten

Paperback with Jacket

218 Illustrationen

29.5 x 24.5 cm

Englisch

Thames & Hudson

2018

Während die großen Ausstellungen der japanischen Fotografie in den letzten dreißig Jahren immer häufiger geworden sind, bietet Ravens & Red Lipstick eine der ersten Übersichten des Themas in englischer Sprache.

Der Band zeichnet die Entwicklung der japanischen Fotografie von der Strenge des Nachkriegsrealismus über Bewegungen und Gruppen wie Vivo in den späten 1950er und frühen 1960er Jahren, Provoke in den 1960er Jahren und "Girls' Photography" in den 1990er Jahren bis hin zur Vielfalt und technischen Raffinesse der Fotografie im heutigen Japan nach. Es werden Interviews mit einigen der einflussreichsten Praktiker der Fotogeschichte, von Moriyama Daido und Araki Nobuyoshi bis zu Kawauchi Rinko und Ninagawa Mika aufgeführt.

Die Kuratorin und Kunsthistorikerin Lena Fritsch schreibt mit Phantasie und Klarheit, befragt einen Querschnitt fotografischer Bewegungen und arbeitet vor dem lebendigen, wechselnden Hintergrund der japanischen Sozial-, Kultur- und Politikgeschichte. Fritschs große Leistung ist es, Beobachtungen aus verschiedenen Disziplinen in ihren Kommentar einfließen zu lassen. Damit ist dieser umfassend bebilderte Band sowohl eine zugängliche Einführung als auch ein aufschlussreiches Analysewerk für allgemeine Leser und Liebhaber.

Lena Fritsch ist Spezialistin für japanische Kunst und Fotografie des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts und Kuratorin für moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst am Ashmolean Museum (University of Oxford). Ihre Veröffentlichungen umfassen The Body as a Screen: Japanische Kunstfotografie der 1990er Jahre und eine englischsprachige Ausgabe von Moriyama Daidos Tales of Tono. Fritsch ist auch eine erfahrene Übersetzerin der Sprache.

Lena Fritsch – Ravens & Red Lipstick – Japanese Photography since 1945 – Pre-order

€ 48.00 Add to cart

288 pages

Paperback with Jacket

218 illustrations

29.5 x 24.5 cm

English

Thames & Hudson

2018

While major exhibitions of Japanese photography have become steadily more frequent over the last thirty years, Ravens & Red Lipstick offers one of the first overviews of the subject to be published in English.

Visually bold and richly detailed, this volume traces the development of Japanese photography from the severity of post-war Realism to the diversity and technical ingenuity of photography in contemporary Japan, via movements and groups such as Vivo in the late 1950s/early 1960s, Provoke in the 1960s, and “girls’ photography” in the 1990s. Interleaved are new interviews with some of the most influential practitioners in photographic history, from Moriyama Daido and Araki Nobuyoshi to Kawauchi Rinko and Ninagawa Mika.

Curator and art-historian Lena Fritsch writes with imagination and clarity, interrogating a cross-section of photographic movements and works against the vivid, shifting backdrop of Japanese social, cultural and political history. Fritsch’s great achievement is to bring observations from a range of disciplines to bear on her commentary. As a result, this comprehensively illustrated volume is both an accessible introduction and an illuminating work of analysis for general readers and aficionados alike.

Lena Fritsch is a specialist in 20th-and 21st-century Japanese art and photography and Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art at the Ashmolean Museum (University of Oxford). Her publications include The Body as a Screen: Japanese Art Photography of the 1990s and an English-language edition of Moriyama Daido’s Tales of Tono. Fritsch is also an experienced translator of the language.